News Releases, Media Advisories, and Legal Notices
Mary Hall

Media Advisory
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, July 12, 2017

​Mary Hall, Auditor,, 360.786.5408, 711 Washington Relay

Document Recording Fee Increase Begins July 23

​During the 2017 legislative session, the Washington State legislature passed ESHB1594 increasing the fees charged to customers for recording some documents by $1.00. Revenue generated through the new $1.00 fee will go to the Secretary of State’s Office to support a competitive grant program for local government archiving.

The new fees begin July 23, 2017 and only apply to the first page of recorded documents. Fees for additional pages will stay the same.

The Thurston County Auditor’s Office developed a memo for document recording customers and stakeholders outlining the fee changes and which documents the fee increase impacts. The Auditor’s Licensing and Recording division began sharing the memo with customers in June at its office and by mail.

"We work with Thurston County residents and stakeholders on a daily basis to meet their document recording needs," said Thurston County Auditor Mary Hall. "While the state legislature passed the fee increase, we want to make our customers in Thurston County aware of the change so they can plan accordingly."

State law requires the Auditor’s Office to collect full fees. Any document submitted without full payment to the Auditor’s Office will be sent back with a request for the customer to resend the documents with correct fees.

Customers should contact the Thurston County Auditor’s Office Licensing and Recording Division with questions or concerns at 360.786.5405, Monday through Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm.

The award-winning Thurston County Auditor’s Office provides document recording services to the general public. Our recording services include customer service for document recording, access to recorded documents and map and land record research. For more information, visit us at