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COMMUNICABLE DISEASE CONTROL AND PREVENTION SECTION
THURSTON COUNTY PUBLIC HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES DEPARTMENT
412 LiLLY RD NE
OLYMPIA, WA, 98506-5132 ——— 1
DISEASE REPORTING: (360)786-5470 | FLURSTON COUNTY

WASHINGTON

3/10/2020

* NOTICE: This health alert provides written guidance for health care professionals and others who may need to
take action to prevent or control a notifiable condition. It is not intended to provide guidance for the general public.

Long Term Care Facilities and COVID-19
COVID-19 Update #8

Background

Gov. Jay Inslee announced new rules https://www.governor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/proclamations/20-
06%20Coronavirus%20%28tmp%29.pdf?utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery today around
nursing homes and assisted living facilities that focus on better protecting older adults — a population
more likely to be hit by COVID-19 (coronavirus) — during the ongoing statewide, health crisis.

Rule changes center around visitors, screening, and precautionary measures.

“The risk of severe illness and death from COVID-19 appears to be higher in people 60 years or older
and in those with chronic health conditions,” Inslee said. “And we know there is an increased risk
among people while live in congregated settings, such as long-term care facilities. We need to protect
our older adults, and these rules will help.”

Rules that go into effect today:
o Visitors must be adults and the visit must take place in the resident’s room. This does not apply
to end-of-life situations.

o All visitors must follow COVID-19 screening and follow reasonable precautionary measures.
Precautionary measures include, but are not limited to, wearing personal protective equipment,
social distancing, or visiting in designated locations.

e All visitors must sign into a visitor's log. Owners and operators must retain that log for 30 days.
o Employees or volunteers must be screened for COVID-19 symptoms at the start of each shift.

e People who live in nursing homes or assisted living facilities and who test positive for COVID-
19 must be isolated away from other people.

e Owners, operators, staff and volunteers are prohibited from disclosing protected and
confidential health information, except as otherwise provided by law or with the resident’s
consent.

These rules remain in effect until midnight on April 9, 2020.

We want to make you aware of correspondence sent to long term care facilities from John Wiesman,
DrPH, MPH Washington State Secretary of Health and Kathy Lofy, MD Washington State Health Officer
regarding COVID-19. The information follows:

Long-term care facilities are at high risk for severe COVID-19 outbreaks due to their congregate nature
and vulnerable population (e.g., older adults with multiple co-morbidities). lll healthcare personnel
(HCP) or visitors are the most likely sources of introduction of COVID-19 into the facility. To protect
this fragile population, the Department of Health is urging ALL long-term care facilities to
immediately take the following aggressive actions to reduce the risk of COVID-19 infection in
your residents and staff. If you have a resident with known or suspected COVID-19 infection, your
local health jurisdiction may recommend you take more aggressive actions than those listed below.



https://www.governor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/proclamations/20-06%20Coronavirus%20%28tmp%29.pdf?utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery
https://www.governor.wa.gov/sites/default/files/proclamations/20-06%20Coronavirus%20%28tmp%29.pdf?utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery
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Immediate Actions for Long-term Care Facilities to Take:
Visitor Restrictions:

Discourage visitation at your facility and offer alternative methods of visitation (Skype, Face
Time, etc.), if available.

Limit each resident to no more than 1 visitor per day. No visitors should be allowed in units with
an outbreak.

Actively assess all visitors for a fever and respiratory symptoms. Do not allow ill visitors to visit.
Maintain a record (e.g., a log with contact information, date, travel and illness screening and
temperature) of all visitors (including vendors, inspectors, etc.)

Ensure visitors limit their movement within the facility (e.g., avoid the cafeteria and other public
gathering areas).

Healthcare Personnel Monitoring and Restrictions:

Restrict non-essential personnel including volunteers and non-essential consultant personnel
(e.g., barbers, delivery person) from entering the building

Screen all staff at the beginning of their shift for fever and respiratory symptoms.

Actively take their temperature and document absence of shortness of breath, new or change
in cough, and sore throat. If they are ill, immediately have them put on a facemask and self-
isolate at home.

Prioritize ill healthcare providers for COVID-19 testing.

Keep a record of other facilities where your staff are working. (Note that staff who work in
multiple healthcare facilities may pose a higher risk.)

Consider having staff who provide direct patient care to wear all recommended PPE (gown,
gloves, eye protection, facemask) for the care of all residents, regardless of presence of
symptoms.

If resources allow, consider universal facemask use for healthcare personnel while in the
facility.

Resident Monitoring and Restrictions:

Actively monitor all residents (at least daily) for possible signs of respiratory infection:

Screen for fever and respiratory symptoms (shortness of breath, new or change in cough, and
sore throat) and perform pulse oximetry for changes in oxygen saturation at least daily. (Note
that long term care residents with confirmed COVID-19 infection may be less likely to show
signs of fever and respiratory signs and symptoms may be subtle.)

If positive for fever or respiratory signs/symptoms, isolate the resident in their room and
implement recommended infection control precautions.

Put plans in place to limit movement and ensure social distancing (i.e., staying 6 feet away from
others) of your well resident.

Cancel group activities or plan activities where people can stay 6 feet away from each other.
Cancel communal dining or have residents eat in the dining room in smaller groups so that they
can stay 6 feet away from each other.

Limit the movement of residents around the facility.

Make sure residents perform hand hygiene and wear a facemask (contingent on supply) if they
leave their room.

Have a low threshold to transfer ill residents to a higher level of care.

Do not accept a resident with confirmed COVID-19 back to the long-term care facility until all
appropriate infection control precautions can be ensured.
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General Infection Control:

e Train staff on how to wear PPE safely.

o Use of Standard, Contact, and Droplet Precautions with eye protection for any undiagnosed
respiratory infection for which airborne precautions is not otherwise recommended (e.g.,
tuberculosis).

e Increase hand hygiene especially during care of residents and in between residents.

e Prior to entering and exiting the unit and a resident’s room, healthcare personnel must perform
hand hygiene by washing hands with soap and water or applying alcohol-based hand sanitizer.

¢ Increase environmental cleaning. Disinfect all frequently touched surfaces such as doorknobs,
elevator buttons, bathrooms, remote controls, and wheelchairs. Limit sharing of personal items
between residents.

Managing PPE Shortages:
When PPE supplies are limited, rapidly transition to extended use of eye and face protection (i.e.,
respirators or facemasks).

Reporting to the Health Department:
Immediately notify the health department about anyone with COVID-19 or if you identify 2 or more
residents or healthcare providers who develop respiratory infections within a week.

Resources:
DOH Long Term Care -
https://www.doh.wa.gov/Emergencies/NovelCoronavirusOutbreak2020/LongTermCareFacilities

DOH COVID-19 - https://www.doh.wa.gov/Emergencies/Coronavirus
Centers for Disease Control - https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/index.html

Thurston County Public Health and Social Services -
https://www.thurstoncountywa.gov/phss/Pages/coronavirus.aspx

THANK YOU FOR REPORTING
TO REPORT A NOTIFIABLE CONDITION IN THURSTON COUNTY

Voice mail for reporting non-immediately reportable Phone: 360-786-5470
conditions (24 hours a day) Fax: 360-867-2601

Day time immediately reportable conditions — Call
detailed information to the 24-hour Notifiable Condition | pPhone: 360-786-5470
Reporting Line at 360-786-5470. Messages are picked
up hourly. If a call back can’t wait call 360-867-2500
and ask staff to locate a Communicable Disease staff.

After hours immediately and 24-hour reportable Call 1-800-986-9050
conditions or a public health emergency

No one is available with Thurston County Public Health | 1-877-539-4344
and condition is immediately notifiable

| Communicable Disease Updates are posted online at: http://bit.ly/CDUpdatePHSS
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