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* NOTICE: This health alert provides written guidance for health care professionals and others who may need to 
take action to prevent or control a notifiable condition. It is not intended to provide guidance for the general public. 
 

 
Novel Coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2), Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)- 
Emergency Rule (WAC 246-101-017) designates COVID-19 as Notifiable 

Condition and Additional Information Required for Reporting. 
 
Requested Action: 
• Age, sex, race and ethnicity must now be included in reported laboratory data for 

SARS-COV-2 testing. This is a requirement of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic 
Security (CARES) Act which mandates that this demographic information must be 
collected and reported to local or state public health departments. 
 

• COVID-19 is a notifiable condition and must be reported within twenty-four hours to 
local health jurisdiction. Laboratories to report all positive, negative and indeterminant 
tests for SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, to local health jurisdiction within 
24 hours of test completion. Principal health care providers to report positive tests within 
24 hours to local health jurisdiction. Health care facilities where they assume reporting 
responsibility must also report positive tests within 24 hours of test completion to local 
health jurisdiction. Reporting should be completed using existing secure reporting 
channels. 

 
Background:  
SARS-CoV-2 the virus causing the COVID-19 global pandemic emerged in December 2019. 
As of August 9, there were 63,072 confirmed cases and 1,688 deaths in Washington State 
and 776 confirmed cases and 11 deaths in Thurston County. The Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and 
Economic Security (CARES) Act signed into law on March 27, 2020 requires that every 
laboratory that processes tests that detect SARS-CoV-2 report that information to the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) through state and local public health 
departments using current reporting channels. Further HHS guidance issued on June 4, 2020 
included requirements that laboratories who process SARS-CoV-2 tests report demographic 
data to include the patient’s sex, age, ethnicity and race. The Emergency Rule Novel 
coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2), coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) reporting (WAC 246-101-
017) went into effect on July 31, 2020 and will remain in effect for 120 days.  You can access 
a copy of the full emergency rule at https://www.thurstoncountywa.gov/phss/phssdocuments/COVID-
19_WSR2016121_SBOHSars2COVID19reporting246101017-final.pdf. 
   
Thank you, our public health partners, for the long and often unappreciated and 
unacknowledged hours you are tirelessly spending caring for your patients and working on 
COVID-19 to lessen its impact on our community and flatten the curve 
 
Resources:  
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) COVID-19 Website: 
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nCoV/index.html 
 

https://www.thurstoncountywa.gov/phss/phssdocuments/COVID-19_WSR2016121_SBOHSars2COVID19reporting246101017-final.pdf
https://www.thurstoncountywa.gov/phss/phssdocuments/COVID-19_WSR2016121_SBOHSars2COVID19reporting246101017-final.pdf
http://?
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nCoV/index.html
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Washington State Department of Health (DOH):  
https://www.doh.wa.gov/Emergencies/NovelCoronavirusOutbreak2020COVID19/HealthcareProviders           
DOH - What to do if you have confirmed or suspected COVID-19 - 
https://www.doh.wa.gov/Portals/1/Documents/1600/coronavirus/COVIDcasepositive.pdf  
DOH - What to do if you were potentially exposed to someone with COVID-19 - 
https://www.doh.wa.gov/Portals/1/Documents/1600/coronavirus/COVIDexposed.pdf  
DOH - What to do if you have COVID-19 symptoms but have not been around anyone 
diagnosed with COVID-19 - 
https://www.doh.wa.gov/Portals/1/Documents/1600/coronavirus/COVIDconcerned.pdf  
Thurston County Public Health and Social Services Department:    
https://www.thurstoncountywa.gov/phss/Pages/coronavirus.aspx 
 
Thurston County Public Health and Social Services Department: Emergency Rule pdf 
https://www.thurstoncountywa.gov/phss/phssdocuments/COVID-
19_WSR2016121_SBOHSars2COVID19reporting246101017-final.pdf     
 

THANK YOU FOR REPORTING WE COULDN’T DO THIS WITHOUT YOU! 
 

 

Communicable Disease Updates are posted online at: http://bit.ly/CDUpdatePHSS  
 

TO REPORT A NOTIFIABLE CONDITION IN THURSTON COUNTY 
 
Voice mail for reporting non-immediately reportable 
conditions (24 hours a day) 

 
Phone: 360-786-5470            
Fax: 360-867-2601 

 
Day time immediately reportable conditions – Call 
detailed information to the 24-hour Notifiable Condition 
Reporting Line at 360-786-5470.  Messages are picked 
up hourly.  If a call back can’t wait call 360-867-2500 
and ask staff to locate a Communicable Disease staff. 

 
 
Phone: 360-786-5470            
 

 
After hours immediately and 24-hour reportable 
conditions or a public health emergency 

 
Call 1-800-986-9050   

 
No one is available with Thurston County Public Health 
and condition is immediately notifiable  

 
1-877-539-4344 
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