Self-Represented Parties Resource Sheet

HOW TO FIND AN ATTORNEY OR LEGAL ASSISTANCE

1. Thurston County Family Court Facilitators

Courthouse facilitators can provide information about court procedures and assist you with legal forms (sometimes referred to as "pleadings") in your family law case if you are not represented by an attorney. The facilitator is not your lawyer and cannot give you legal advice.

- Make an appointment at the Clerk's Office or call them at (360) 709-3260.
- There is a \$25 fee for a half hour appointment with the facilitators each time you meet with them.
- Visit the Clerk's Office website at www.co.thurston.wa.us/clerk

2. Northwest Justice Project

Low income parties may receive legal advice and referrals by phone. For more information:

(888) 201-1014 (9:15am – 12:15pm)

(888) 387-7111 - Persons 60 years old and over regardless of income

https://nwjustice.org/clear-hotline

3. Thurston County Volunteer Legal Services (TCVLS)

Helps you resolve your own civil legal issue by giving you legal advice at one of their clinics. You leave the clinic with a list of next steps. Sometimes, they have attorneys who are willing to represent you in court.

(360) 705-8194

1-844-211-6916 (toll free)

https://tcvls.org/

OTHER RESOURCES

4. Washington Courts

www.courts.wa.gov

Visit this website to:

- Download mandatory forms for free.
- Look your court case up online.
- View State court rules.

5. Thurston County Superior Court

www.thurstoncountywa.gov/sc

Visit this website to:

- View court calendars
- Download local court forms for free.
- View local court rules.
- Learn about the family law process.

6. <u>Family Education and Support Services</u>

Provides the court mandated Parenting Seminar and other helpful resources.

(360) 754-7629

1-877-813-2828 (toll free)

http://familyess.org/

7. Thurston County Dispute Resolution Center

The parties to any court action involving a parenting plan are required to participate in mediation before proceeding to settlement conference and trial, except in cases involving domestic violence.

(360) 956-1155

www.mediatethurston.org

8. Child Support

If you or anyone else in your home is receiving any public assistance or state medical through the state of Washington you are required to contact the Thurston County Prosecuting Attorney's office-Division of Family Support, to find out if they have an interest in your case. Call (360) 786-5536.

Always maintain a current address, phone number, and email in your court file by filing this form with the Clerk's office:

Name of Form	Form Number
Notice of Appearance	FL All Family 118
(for a party without a lawyer)	

If your information changes at any time during your case, file:

Name of Form	Form Number
Notice of Address Change	FL All Family 120