Citizens' Commission on Salaries for Elected Officials

Back to the Boards and Commissions page​


The purpose of the Citizen's Commission on Salaries for Elected Officials is to set the salaries of the Thurston County Commissioners and to make recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners regarding the salaries of the elected Assessor, Auditor, Clerk, Coroner, Prosecuting Attorney, Sheriff, and Treasurer.

Authority: Chapter 36.17 RCW, Chapter 2.118 Thurston County Code


The Commission meets at 6:00 PM on the third Monday of each month as needed, usually between July and December.

Meetings are held in Building 1, Room 152 of the Thurston County Courthouse, 2000 Lakeridge Drive SW, Olympia. There is a telephonic option for anyone who wishes to attend remotely. Call-in information is provided on the agenda.

Contact Person:
Ruth Elder
Clerk of the Commission
(360) 786-5135, Email Ruth
WA RELAY 711 or 1-800-833-6388

Current Commission Members:

Commission Chair
Karen White
Organized Labor Representative
​Term Expires 3/31/25
Megan Walsh
District 1 Representative
Term Expires 3/31/25
Charles Baker
​District 2 Representative
Term Expires 3/31/23
Melissa Maanoa
District 2 Representative
Term Expires 3/31/25
Lyle Tillett
District 3 Representative
Term Expires 3/31/23
Armeta Cave
District 3 Representative
Term Expires 3/31/25
Cary Randow
Business Representative
Term Expires 3/31/23
Travis Matheson
Professional Personnel Management Representative
​Term Expires 3/31/23
Current Vacancy
District 1 Representative
Term Expired 3/31/23
Current Vacancy
Legal Profession Representative
Term Expired 12/18/18