​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday, September 17, 2015
Vivian Eason, Emergency Management Coordinator at (360) 867-2825 or EasonV@co.thurston.wa.us

Get Ready for Storm Season and More at Prep Expo 2015
Get your home and family prepared during National Preparedness Month

Don't let the waning warmth of summer fool you- storm season is just around the corner. Get the tools, tips and tricks you need to weather the storms and other emergencies at the annual Thurston County Emergency Preparedness Expo on Saturday, September 26 at Yelm High School.

This year's featured presentations include information on the 2015-16 winter weather outlook from renowned local weather guru and National Weather Service meteorologist Ted Buehner, as well as information from Thurston County Emergency Management Coordinator Andrew Kinney on hazards that are lurking in areas around Thurston County, like areas prone to flooding or landslides.

The free event will open at 10 a.m. and every attendee will receive a free Kit-Man safety bag with instructions on how to create your own emergency response kit. Dozens of vendors will also be on hand with information and demonstrations on everything you need to prepare, respond, and recover from the next disaster.

  • WHAT:Emergency Preparedness Expo 2015
    Admission is free!
  • WHEN:Saturday, Sept. 26 from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
  • WHERE:Yelm High School at 1315 W. Yelm Ave. in Yelm, 98597

For more information about Thurston County Emergency Management and the 2015 Prep Expo event, visit www.co.thurston.wa.us/em or www.Facebook.com/ThurstonEM.

To schedule a training or presentation for your community or neighborhood group, please contact Vivian Eason, Emergency Management Coordinator at EasonV@co.thurston.wa.us or (360) 867-2825.



County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3