​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday, October 1, 2015
Roger Giebelhaus, Thurston County Public Works, 360-867-2343

Hearing set for Thurston County Transportation Plan
Public invited to comment on 6-year plan

Thurston County residents are invited to comment on proposed revisions to the county's 6-year Transportation Improvement Plan (TIP). This version of the plan covers the years 2016 through 2021.

The county is required to adopt a revised six-year transportation improvement program (TIP) each year under state law. The County Engineer must then submit the revised plan each year to the county commissioners for their review and approval.

The plan covers various proposed projects which can then be prioritized according to need, timeliness, funding availability and other factors. They can include construction of major and minor new roads, bridges, safety projects or other transportation improvements.

Roger Giebelhaus of Thurston County Public Works, says the plan helps to ensure proper coordination and sequencing of projects and resources. "By updating the plan yearly, we can make sure projects with regional impact are given the proper consideration. We can also integrate transportation issues with other land use demands. In addition, the plan allows us to gauge how different projects impact each other and qualifies us for state and federal transportation funding."

Those who wish to find out more about the Thurston County 6-Year Transportation Improvement Plan can view the entire document at- http://www.co.thurston.wa.us/publicworks/Docs/Agency/STIP20162021DRAFT.pdf

What: Public Hearing for Thurston County's 6-Year Transportation Improvement Plan

When: 3pm Tuesday October 6

Where: Room 280, Building One, Thurston County Courthouse, 2000 Lakeridge Dr. SW. Olympia WA. 98502



County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3