​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Cami Petersen, Historic Commission Staff, 360-754-3355 ext. 6348

Thurston County Historic Commission Awards 2016 Preservation Grants
Seven organizations given an equal share of $35,000

OLYMPIA - Historic preservation programs in Thurston County have been given a boost, thanks to grants authorized Tuesday, January 5th by the Board of County Commissioners. Funding for the grants comes under an enactment from the 2005 legislature that sets aside $1 from each $5 historic document recording fee collected by the county auditor. The grant program is managed by the Thurston County Historic Commission who review and recommend funding in compliance with guidelines established by the County Commissioners.

The Thurston County Historic Commission received and ranked seven complete applications and all were awarded equal funds for 2016 as listed below-

  • Sand Man (historic tugboat) Foundation - Repair the engine blown head gasket, $5,000
  • South Thurston County Historical Society - Upgrade displays, signage, and artifact storage space, $5,000
  • City of Lacey/Lacey Museum - Image and catalogue the first and only city newspaper the Lacey Leader, $5,000
  • Olympia Historical Society/Bigelow House Museum - Renovate the upstairs of the Bigelow House and create interpretive panels, $5,000
  • Olympia Tumwater Foundation - Complete processing the Schmidt House historical photographs for preservation and public access, $5,000
  • Gate Community Club - Repair the ceiling, back porch, and preserve historic documents at the Historic Gate City Schoolhouse, $5,000
  • Pacific N.W. Archaeological Services - Provide public outreach for the Archeological Field School at the historic George Bush homestead, and help fund the second season excavation, $5,000



County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3