​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Bud Blake, BHO Board Chair, 360-786-5440
Commissioner Terri Jeffreys, (360) 427-9670 Ext. 419
Mark Freedman, BHO Director, 360-867-2558

Volunteers Sought for New Behavioral Health Organization Committee
Advisory committee assists Thurston and Mason County Commissioners

OLYMPIA - The Thurston-Mason Behavioral Health Organization (BHO) Board, has voted to convert the Regional Support Network (RSN) Advisory Committee to do the same advisory work for the BHO. The three member BHO Board consists of Mason County Commissioner Terri Jeffreys and Thurston County Commissioners Cathy Wolfe and Bud Blake. The BHO Board also appointed Mark Freedman Director of the new organization.

Regional Support Networks are required by law to have a community advisory committee. Under revised state laws, the RSNs are being converted into BHOs which feature an integration of mental health and substance abuse programs. The Advisory Board includes professionals, consumers, and relatives of people who have mental health or substance challenges.

BHO Board chair Bud Blake says the work of the advisory committee is important. "Mental health and substance abuse issues impact every one of us in one way or another. That is one of the reasons that our programs must be anchored in the community and volunteers can provide that connection and the energy and effectiveness we need."

Currently, there are several openings on the advisory committee, especially for tribal representatives and residents of Mason County. To find out more, or to apply, please contact Tina Gehrig of Thurston County Public Health and Social Services at 360-867-2509 or gehrigt@co.thurston.wa.us Mason County residents may want to call Commissioner Terri Jeffreys at (360) 427-9670 Ext. 419.



County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3