​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday, June 16, 2016
Staci Coleman, Mental Health Court Program Manager, colemas@co.thurston.wa.us or (360) 867-2034

Thurston County Mental Health Court Celebrates 10 Years
The Thurston County Mental Health Court Program is celebration 10 years of graduating classes

OLYMPIA - On Thursday, June 23, the Thurston County Mental Health Court Program will host a celebration to recognize ten years of successes.

When: Thursday, June 23, 2016
Where: Thurston County Courthouse, Building 3, Courtroom #1
Time: 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Mental Health Court is a two-year diversion program for criminal defendants that promotes treatment along with accountability. Participants must demonstrate law abiding behavior, participate in recommended treatment, submit to random urinalyses and portable breath tests, attend regular court reviews, and maintain frequent contact with assigned staff.

Once participants successfully complete the program, they may be convicted of lesser charges or have their case dismissed. It is estimated that between 2009 and 2013, Mental Health Court has saved the county in excess of $6.8 million in terms of reduced jail bed days, averaging more than $1,378,000 annually.

Not only does Mental Health Court significantly reduce criminal justice costs for taxpayers, it also results in dramatically lower recidivism rates for its participants.

"This program has done wonders for our mental health community," said County Commissioner Cathy Wolfe. Wolfe said, "It has been a huge success in supporting individuals in making better choices and finding resources to help them along the way."

For more information about Thurston County Mental Health Court, visit: http://www.co.thurston.wa.us/distcrt/mental-health-court.htm



County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3