​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Friday, January 13, 2017
LaBonita Bowmar, Clerk of the Board, Office of the Board of County Commissioners, 360-786-5440, or email at bowmarl@co.thurston.wa.us

County Looking for Community Members to Serve on Volunteer Boards
Twenty-seven volunteer boards, commissions, committees, and councils support the work of the County

OLYMPIA - The Thurston County Board of Commissioners is looking for community members to serve on the County's 27 advisory boards, commissions, committees, and councils.

The roles of these support entities vary from advising the Board on matters related to agriculture, to promoting the preservation of historic places, to making recommendations on preserving and protecting the water resources of Thurston County.

"The advisory boards, commissions, committees, and councils play an important role in the work of the County," said Bud Blake, Chair of the Board of Commissioners. "Our programs must be supported and anchored by community members and volunteers in order for them to be effective. The members of these supporting advisory boards are key in providing that anchor."

The Board of Commissioners is regularly looking for citizens to fill vacancies on these advisory boards. While there may not currently be a vacancy on all advisory boards, interested citizens may submit an application at any point and will be put into the pool of applicants for the advisory board listed on their application. These positions are volunteer and unpaid.

If you are interested in applying for any of the boards, commissions, committees, or councils, please contact LaBonita Bowmar, Clerk of the Board, at (360) 786-5440, for more information. You can also find more information on the County website at http://www.co.thurston.wa.us/bocc/boards.htm.

County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3