​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, December 2, 2009
Don Krupp,  Thurston  County  Manager, 360-786-5440

Public Invited to Comment on Thurston County 2010 Budget

OLYMPIA – Thurston County Commissioners on Monday will hold a public hearing on the spending plan for 2010.  The overall budget for next year is down about 17% from 2009 levels at $317.1- Million.  County manager Don Krupp says earlier rounds of cuts have meant no wholesale reductions were needed for the 2010 budget.  " County Commissioners have been trimming back the budget for years now to account for the limit of 1% per year on property tax increases, which does not allow us to keep up with inflation and an increasing population.  We have cut more than 12% of county employee positions and $7- Million from the county's General Fund." 

Krupp says the recession, which hit the county hard, has flattened out a bit, but he still has words of caution.  "That does not mean that county government has recovered in any significant way.  We are still dealing with a terrible revenue situation and an increasing demand for programs and services.  Even if the economy fully recovers, county government will still be in a revenue bind for the foreseeable future."

The public hearing will be held at 5:30 the evening of Monday, December 7th  in Room 152 of Building One of the Thurston County Courthouse. Between now and the hearing, Thurston County residents can also submit comments by mail to:

Board of County Commissioners
Thurston County Courthouse
2000 Lakeridge Drive, SW
Olympia , WA 98502

Those wanting to comment can also call (360) 786-5440 or fax to (360) 754-4104 or send them by email to: tcbocc@co.thurston.wa.us   Budget materials can be viewed on line at: www.co.thurston.wa.us  Look for the "Budget Information" button on the opening page of the web site.

County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3