​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Monday, July 20, 2009
Rick Johnson, Weed Coordinator- 360-786-5576

Perennial Pepperweed Discovered in Thurston County

Yelm- Perennial Pepperweed, an invasive noxious weed, has been found growing in a pasture in Southern Thurston County. The only other infestation in Thurston County exists at the Nisqually Wildlife Refuge and is monitored for control by refuge personnel.

Perennial Pepperweed threatens most all lands in Thurston County as it tolerates salty and wet soils, invades intact ecosystems, pastures, roadsides, cropland and both fresh and salt water shorelines. It causes large economic losses, degrades wildlife habitat, crowds out native plants, and accelerates soil erosion.

Perennial Pepperweed is ranked as the #2 threat to Thurston County by the Thurston County Noxious Weed Control Board as seen on this document from their web site. http://www.co.thurston.wa.us/tcweeds/documents/Risk Assessment Chart with values.pdf

The University of Washington has confirmed the specimen collected on July 16, 2009 as Perennial Pepperweed.

Thurston County weed staff is providing the landowner with the most up to date scientific data to control the species in a rapid response attempt to prevent it from spreading throughout Thurston County .

Additional information can be found at the Noxious Weed web site on the web at:  www.co.thurston.wa.us/tcweeds

Photographs of perennial pepperweed can be found at: http://www.co.thurston.wa.us/tcweeds/weeds/perennialpepperweed.htm

A fact sheet about perennial pepperweed and control options can be found at http://www.co.thurston.wa.us/tcweeds/weeds/fact-sheets/Perennial Pepperweed Prescription.pdf

Residents of Thurston County are encouraged to report any additional findings of this noxious weed to the Thurston County Resource Stewardship Department, Noxious Weed Unit, at 360 786-5576.  


County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3