​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Tuesday, June 2, 2009
Olivia Terwilleger, Thurston County Planning, (360) 754-3355 ext. 5477

Thurston County Planning Commission Hearing on Proposed Zoning Changes

​OLYMPIA -- The Thurston County Planning Commission will hold a public hearing tomorrow evening (Wednesday, June 3, 2009) regarding compliance with the state Growth Management Act.  The hearing will be held at 7:00 p.m. in Room 280, of Building One of the Thurston County Courthouse, 2000 Lakeridge Dr. SW , Olympia , WA 98502 .

The purpose of the hearing is to accept comment on the following Growth Management Act (GMA) Compliance Action: proposed amendments to Future Land Uses and Designated Agriculture and Forest Lands of the Thurston County Comprehensive Plan as well as amendments to the official Thurston County Zoning Map. Amendments are being considered due to state requirements that Thurston County determine if additional land meets the County's designation criteria for agricultural lands of long-term commercial significance. Some parcels may be rezoned to Long-Term Agriculture designation of one dwelling unit per twenty acres or Nisqually Agriculture, one dwelling unit per forty acres. The County may also consider modifying its designation criteria to exclude lands predominately covered by wetlands from being designated as agricultural lands of long-term commercial significance.  

Information regarding the proposed changes is available by contacting Olivia Terwilleger at (360) 754-3355 ext. 5477 or visiting the county website at www.co.thurston.wa.us

People who are unable to attend can send written comments regarding the proposed amendments to-

Olivia Terwilleger,
Development Services Department,
2000 Lakeridge Drive SW , Olympia , WA 98502 .
(Written comments must be received by the close of the hearing on June 3, 2009.)

County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3