​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Tuesday, June 17, 2008
Steve Romines, Medic One Director, 360-704-2780
Keith Eisner,  Thurston  County  Public Information, 360-786-5245

Discharge of Fireworks in Unincorporated County Limited to July 3, 4

OLYMPIA – The Fourth of July is nearly upon us and that typically means some injuries because of the use of illegal fireworks or careless use of legal fireworks. It is legal in  unincorporated Thurston County to sell fireworks only from June 28 through noon on July 6.  It is legal to discharge fireworks only from 9 AM to 11 PM on July 3 and 4. Thurston County Medic One Director Steve Romines urges the following precautions:

  • Use only "safe and sane" fireworks. In Washington state that means no bottle rockets, no firecrackers, no cherry bombs and no missiles.
  • Have an adult present at all times when fireworks are being set off.
  • Do not allow young children to light fireworks.
  • Keep a water source handy to deal with potential fires.
  • Douse used fireworks to make sure they are out.
  • Keep a safe distance from lit fireworks.
  • Do not hold or throw fireworks after they are lit.
  • Do not re-light fireworks that did not go off the first time.

    There is always the threat of fire from fireworks.  The incendiary heat of most fireworks easily and quickly ignites flammable materials such as brush, grass, wood, paper, clothing or even the upholstery of automobiles. 

    Officials recommend that families leave the discharge of major fireworks to professionals at licensed public displays and to be extremely careful when using legal fireworks this holiday.

    Again, in the unincorporated areas of Thurston County , it is legal to sell fireworks from June 28 through noon on July 6.  It is legal to discharge fireworks ONLY from 9 AM to 11 PM on July 3 and 4.

County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3