​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday, March 13, 2008
Dwight Edwards, Community Housing Program Coordinator, 360-709-3003

Homeless Grant Program Application Deadline Extended

OLYMPIA – The Thurston County Home Consortium has extended the deadline for project applications under the Homeless Grant Assistance Program (HGAP) for spring 2008.  The application deadline had been March 19th but is now set for March 31st.

HGAP grants are provided through the Washington State Department of Community, Trade and Economic Development (CTED) and are awarded to counties that can develop projects which will contribute to the statewide effort to reduce homelessness in Washington State , and are consistent with the county Ten-Year Homeless Plan.  Those wishing to apply for HGAP funding must apply through the county.  The county will review all applications and select one to submit to the state for funding.

The state will provide up to approximately $1.7 million in statewide funding to midsized counties that reduce homelessness through higher levels of coordination with criminal justice, social service, health, and other state and local systems that result in positive system changes.  HGAP funds may only be used for:

  • Operations and Maintenance of Owned Structures;
  • Project-Based Leasing;
  • Supportive Services; and
  • Tenant-Based Rental Assistance

Applicants must complete a Request for Proposal application and submit it to Thurston County no later than 4:30 P.M., March 31, 2008.  Applicants will be required to present their proposal before an advisory review committee and/or the HOME Consortium.

Those who would like an application, or who may need technical assistance in completing an application, should contact Dwight Edwards at 709-3003 or by email at  edwardd@co.thurston.wa.us.

County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3