​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, January 24, 2007
Mark Koster, Blue Box Recycling Coordinator, Thurston County Department of Water and Waste Management, Solid Waste Program, (360) 754-3355 x6785

West Olympia blue bin recycling location to change

OLYMPIA -- Effective Feb. 1, 2007, Thurston County residents will no longer be able to recycle materials at the blue recycle containers at west Olympia Top Foods.  After many years of hosting the recycle bins, Top Foods management decided to let another business become a partner in this program. Thurston County extends its appreciation to Top Foods for its years of support.

A replacement location for the blue bins has not yet been secured; however, Solid Waste staff members are pursuing several options. Any business interested in hosting the recycling program is encouraged to call the number listed below. In the meantime, residents may always take recyclable materials to the Thurston County Waste and Recovery Center , located at 2418 Hogum Bay Road N.E. in Hawks Prairie. The facility is open Monday through Friday from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Saturday and Sunday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Residents are asked not to leave recyclables at Top Foods once the bins have been removed. Illegal dumping presents a negative image of the blue bin program and will make it more difficult to secure a new location on the west side of the county. Reports of illegal dumping will be investigated. t.

For more information about the county's regional blue bin program, please call Mark Koster at 754-3355 ext. 6785.  For other questions about recycling in Thurston County , please call the Department of Water and Waste Management's main office at 357-2491, TDD 754-2933, or visit www.co.thurston.wa.us/wwm/Recycling/recycling_home.htm  


County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3