​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday, January 26, 2006
Bob Macleod, Thurston County Commission Chairman, 360-786-5440

Thurston County Commissioners Elect Officers for 2006

​OLYMPIA – Thurston County Commissioners have chosen board officers for this year.  Commissioners typically rotate positions on the board on an annual basis.  Chosen as Chairman for 2006 was Bob Macleod, a three-year veteran of the commission.  Vice Chairman is five-year Commission member Cathy Wolfe.  Diane Oberquell, who has served on the Commission for seventeen years, is the outgoing chairman.

Commissioner Macleod says he is looking forward to a busy year.  "There are a number of items we are dealing with including an on-going budget challenge, some long range planning issues and working to resolve the corrections situation.  I am anxious to work with county residents and the other two commissioners on these and other important issues."  Macleod says he will try to follow Diane Oberquell's example as the chairman for 2005.  "Diane sets a high standard as out-going Commission leader.  I am hoping to follow in her footsteps as someone who strives to move the county forward while being sensitive to citizen concerns and to budget issues as well."

Commission elections were held on January 23rd, 2006 and became effective on that date.  

County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3