​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Monday, September 18, 2017
Ramiro Chavez, County Manager, (360)754-2960, or email at chavezr@co.thurston.wa.us 

Commissioners Appoint Jennifer Walker as Public Works Director
She will begin her role as director on October 16

OLYMPIA – After an extensive national recruitment process, the Thurston County Board of Commissioners have appointed Jennifer Walker as the new Director of Public Works. 

The Commissioners held an executive session on September 1, 2017 and voted during an open public meeting on September 18, 2017 to request the county manager to offer the position to Ms. Walker. She accepted the position and will begin in her role as the director on October 16, 2017. 

Walker is currently the Pierce County Planning and Public Works, Strategic Planning and Asset Manager where she is responsible for strategic planning, performance management, asset management, project management, and policies and procedures. Walker has worked for Pierce County Public Works since 2002 in various leadership positions. 

She received her Bachelor of Arts degree from Saint Martin’s College in business administration with concentration in finance management. She is a member of the American Public Works Association (APWA), the International City/County Management Association (ICMA), is a Lean Six Sigma Certified Green Belt from the University of Washington Tacoma, and holds a Project Management Professional (PMP) certification with the Project Management Institute (PMI). 

“Jennifer’s background in strategic planning and project management will be a real asset to the Public Works and County leadership teams,” said County Manager Ramiro Chavez. “She will bring a lot of energy into this position and will move Public Works forward in a very strategic direction.”


County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3