​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Friday, December 21, 2018
Bryan Dominique, Public Information Officer, (360) 867-2091 or by email at bryan.dominique@co.thurston.wa.us

Thurston County Offices Closed December 25 for the Christmas Holiday
Offices open for regular business on Wednesday, December 26

​OLYMPIA – Thurston County government offices will be closed on Tuesday, December 25, in observance of the Christmas Holiday. All offices will re-open for regular business on Wednesday, December 26.

Check with your waste disposal company for curbside garbage and recycling collection schedule. The County's Waste and Recovery Center (WARC) in Lacey will be closed on Tuesday, December 25, but will be open regular hours from 7 a.m. to 4:45 p.m. on Wednesday, December 26. The Rochester Drop-Box Facility will also be closed on Tuesday, December 25, and will re-open Saturday, December 29, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

  • Fire and Police Emergency Services: Call 9-1-1 for emergency police, fire and medic services. Residents are urged to use 9-1-1 for life-threatening emergencies only. 
  • Thurston County Sheriff Non-emergency Services: Residents of unincorporated Thurston County are urged to call the Sheriff's Office non-emergency number at (360) 704-2740 for non-emergency issues like noise complaints.
  • County Parks Open: Burfoot Park, Frye Cove Park, Kenneydell Park and the Off-Leash Dog Park at the WARC will be open during regular park hours.
  • Intercity Transit: Local and express bus service will end between 5:30 p.m. and 7:15 p.m. on Monday, December 24. Depending on the route, the last Dial-A-Lift pick up will be at 6:45 p.m. on Monday, December 24.  I.T. offices will be closed on Tuesday, December 25, and buses will not operate on the holiday. I.T. will operate on regular schedules Wednesday, December 26. For more information please visit www.intercitytransit.com or call (360) 786-1881


County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3