​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Meghan Porter, Public Information Supervisor, 360-867-2097, or email at meghan.porter@co.thurston.wa.us 

Commissioners Seek Applicants for Timberland Regional Library Board of Trustees
Submit applications to the Thurston County Board of Commissioners, Clerk of the Board

OLYMPIA – The Thurston County Commissioners are seeking applicants to fill a vacancy on the citizen volunteer Timberland Regional Library Board of Trustees.  Library trustees' duties include, but are not limited to:

Library trustees’ duties include, but are not limited to: 
  • Adopting bylaws, rules and regulations for the governance of the library
  • Developing the district’s annual budget
  • Approving the monthly vouchers
  • Certifying the tax levy rate
  • Developing and approving district policies
  • Accepting gifts of money or property for library purposes
  • Leasing or purchasing land for library buildings
  • Leasing, purchasing, or erecting buildings for library purposes
  • Employing an executive director 
Members are expected to attend monthly meetings, executive sessions, major library events, training sessions, and make periodic visits to the libraries throughout the county.  

Board Composition
Timberland Regional Library is a five-county library district. The Board of Trustees is composed of seven members, one each from the Grays Harbor, Mason, and Pacific counties and two each from Lewis and Thurston counties.  

How to Apply? 
Thurston County residents interested in applying must complete the application at https://www.thurstoncountywa.gov/bocc/Pages/boards.aspx and email the completed application to LaBonita.Bowmar@co.thurston.wa.us. For questions about the Timberland Regional Library Board of Trustees or any of the other various advisory boards, commissions, councils, and committees, please contact Clerk of the Board, LaBonita Bowmar at 360-786-5447.


County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3