​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Ramiro Chavez, County Manger, 360-754-2960, or email at Ramiro.chavez@co.thurston.wa.us 

Commissioners Set Assignments for Boards and Commissions
The Commissioners will take official action on the assignments at the first meeting of the year

OLYMPIA – Today, the Thurston County Board of County Commissioners set the assignments for 2020 for chair, vice-chair, and commissioner of the Board of County Commissioners and Board of Health, as well as the president, vice-president, and commissioner of the Transportation Benefit District. They also set assignments for the 39 different boards, commissions, councils, and committees the commissioners sit on to represent Thurston County. 

Board of County Commissioners:
  • Chair, John Hutchings
  • Vice-Chair, Tye Menser
  • Commissioner, Gary Edwards
Board of Health: 
  • Chair, Tye Menser
  • Vice-Chair, John Hutchings
  • Commissioner, Gary Edwards
Transportation Benefit District:
  • President, Gary Edwards
  • Vice-President, Tye Menser
  • Commissioner, John Hutchings
The commissioners maintained most of their assignments to the 39 boards, commissions, councils, and committees. The only assignment adjustment was changing the primary for the Transportation Policy Board to Commissioner Edwards and alternate to Commissioner Menser. The Commissioners also added the North Lewis Industrial Access Steering Committee to the list with Commissioner Menser as primary and Commissioner Hutchings as alternate. 

The Board of County Commissioners will take formal action on the assignments on January 7, 2020, the first regularly scheduled board meeting of the new year. 


County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3