Public Access is Closed to Most County Facilities Due to COVID-19.

In response to Governor Inslee's Stay Home, Stay Healthy order, Thurston County has moved to an essential services model, in effect
through Monday, May 4, 2020. Courts and other elected offices may operate under different hours or restrictions.

(For more information on essential functions, visit:
(For office contacts, visit:


​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Friday, March 13, 2020
​Gabrielle Byrne, Public Information Specialist (360) 867-2514 or 
Meghan Porter, Public Information Supervisor 360-867-2097 or 

Public Health Confirms Two New Cases of COVID-19 in Thurston County

OLYMPIA – Thurston County Public Health and Social Services (PHSS) has a confirmed two new cases of COVID-19. One patient is in their 40s, the other is in their 50s. No additional details will be released about the patients at this time. Both patients are in appropriate isolation. 

To learn more about the COVID-19 outbreak, visit the Thurston County PHSS Coronavirus webpage at:

People with symptoms like a fever, cough, and trouble breathing should call ahead to their health care provider for guidance. Those at highest risk for severe illness include older adults, pregnant women, and people who are immunocompromised or have chronic health conditions, such as heart disease, diabetes, and lung disease. To reduce the potential spread of the virus, we’re asking people to call ahead to their healthcare providers and not go directly to the emergency room or urgent care. Those with medical emergencies should still call 911. 

The State Department of Health has set up a hotline for questions and concerns that is staffed seven days a week from 6am until 10pm. That number is: 1-800-525-0127.


County Commissioners:

John Hutchings
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3