​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday, May 21, 2020
Bryan Dominique, Public Information Officer, (360) 463-3437, or email at bryan.dominique@co.thurston.wa.us 

Thurston County to Observe Memorial Day on May 25
Services resume on Tuesday, May 26

OLYMPIA – Thurston County will observe the Memorial Day Holiday on Monday, May 25, 2020. Offices will be closed and remote services will not be available. All service options will resume on Tuesday, May 26.

The county's Waste and Recovery Center (WARC) in Lacey will be open on Memorial Day from 7 a.m. to 4:45 p.m. Visit www.ThurstonSolidWaste.org for more information. Check with your waste disposal company for curbside garbage and recycling collection schedule.

  • Fire and Police Emergency Services: Call 9-1-1 for emergency police, fire, and medic services. Residents are urged to use 9-1-1 for life-threatening emergencies only. 
  • Thurston County Sheriff Non-Emergency Services: Residents of unincorporated Thurston County are urged to call the Sheriff's Office non-emergency number at (360) 704-2740 for issues like noise complaints. 9-1-1 should be used for life-threatening emergencies only.
  • County Parks Open: All county parks are open with limited use guidelines during regular park hours. This includes Burfoot, Frye Cove, Kenneydell, and the Deschutes Falls Parks, along with the Off-Leash Dog Park and Closed Loop Park located near the WARC.
  • Intercity Transit: Intercity Transit (I.T.) has temporarily transitioned from regularly scheduled bus service to providing essential trips for the public using an advance reservation system. Please visit www.intercitytransit.com/COVID-19-response or call customer service between 6:30 a.m. and 7 p.m. at (360) 786-1881 for more information. You can also email Customerservice@intercitytransit.com.


County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3