​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday, November 5, 2020

Thurston County Offices Closed November 11 for Veterans Day
 Waste and Recovery Center open for regular hours

​Thurston County government offices will be closed on Wednesday, November 11, in observance of Veterans Day. All offices will reopen for regular business on Thursday, November 12.

The county's Waste and Recovery Center (WARC) in Lacey will accept garbage, yard waste, and scrap metal on Veterans Day from 7:00 a.m. to 4:45 p.m. HazoHouse and the Recycle Center will be open from 8:00 a.m. to 4:45 p.m. Check with your waste disposal company for curbside garbage and recycling collection schedule.

Other county service information for Veterans Day:

  • Fire and Police Emergency Services: Call 9-1-1 for emergency police, fire, and medic services. Residents are urged to use 9-1-1 for life-threatening emergencies only.
  • Thurston County Sheriff Non-emergency Services: Residents of unincorporated Thurston County are urged to call the Sheriff's Office non-emergency number at (360) 704-2740 for non-emergency issues like noise complaints.
  • County Parks Open: Burfoot Park, Frye Cove Park, Kenneydell Park, and Deschutes Falls Park will be open during regular park hours. The Off-Leash Dog Park at the WARC will also be open during regular park hours. Fireworks are not allowed at any county parks. 
  • Intercity Transit: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Intercity Transit (IT) is providing limited bus service and the Customer Service lobby at the Olympia Transit Center remains closed. The IT administrative offices are closed Veterans Day. On the holiday, bus service will operate on current limited schedules. You can find service details and schedules at: https://www.intercitytransit.com/bus/routes. If you have questions, please call IT customer service at (360) 786-1881 or send an email to customerservice@intercitytransit.com


County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3