​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Tuesday, December 13, 2022
Renae Miller, Public Information Specialist, Thurston County Public Health and Social Services, (360) 463-0362 or renae.miller@co.thurston.wa.us 

Thurston County Announces New Public Health and Social Services Director 
Thurston County hires David Bayne as new director of the Public Health and Social Services Department.

OLYMPIA – After an extensive nation-wide recruitment process, Thurston County has hired David Bayne as the new director of the Public Health and Social Services department. Mr. Bayne has a substantial public health background with more than 10 years combined experience. 

Mr. Bayne holds a bachelor’s degree in political science from Berry College and a Master of Public Health from Emory University. He is coming to the county from his role as Deputy Secretary of Strategic Partnerships with the Washington State Department of Health. 

The Board of County Commissioners and the Board of Health will work with Mr. Bayne, Public Health and Social Services’ employees, local organizations, and community members on various projects to frame the future goals of public health in Thurston County. A strong focus will be on developing new community partnerships on the local and regional levels as well as strengthening existing community collaborative efforts.

Mr. Bayne stated, “I am grateful for the opportunity to lead this department at such a critical time and will continue the county’s fight against COVID-19 and other emerging diseases, while keeping the vision for public health and social services moving forward into a new era!”

He takes over as Director of Thurston County Public Health and Social Services from Kurt Hardin who has been the interim director since January 2022.  Mr. Bayne’s first day on the job will be December 27, 2022.


County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3