​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Tuesday, October 25, 2011
Andrew Deffobis, Associate Planner, 360-754-3355 x 5467

Planning Commission to Hold Meeting on Critical Areas Ordinance

OLYMPIA -- The Thurston County Planning Commission will hold a special meeting on Oct. 26 to review information on the update to the Thurston County Critical Areas Ordinance (Chapter 17.15 in the current Thurston County code). The Planning Department will present background information on County policy and ordinance development pertaining to critical aquifer recharge areas. The Planning Commission may receive new supplemental draft materials from staff. The meeting will begin at 6:30 p.m. in Building 2, Room 257 of the Thurston County Courthouse Complex, 2000 Lakeridge Dr. S.W. in Olympia.

This will be a continuation of previous work sessions on proposed critical areas regulations. No final action is scheduled to occur on the proposed critical areas regulations at the meeting. The proposed changes are part of the 2010-11 Comprehensive Plan Amendment Official Docket.

In addition, the Planning Commission will receive an update regarding staff work on Mineral Lands compliance, and will hold a final work session on agri-tourism ahead of the Planning Commission public hearing on this topic on November 2, 2011.

For an agenda of the meeting, please go to:http://www.co.thurston.wa.us/planning/planning_commission/planning_comm_currentwork.htmlFor more information on the update to the County's Critical Areas Ordinance, please go to:http://www.co.thurston.wa.us/planning/critical_areas/criticalareas_home.htm.

There will be an opportunity for public comment at the beginning of the meeting, and throughout the review process. More information is available in hard copy in the Thurston County Permit Assistance Center, located in Building One of the Thurston County Courthouse.



County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3