​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Tuesday, February 7, 2012
Scott Schimelfenig, Utility Operations Manager, 360- 867-2071 media only

Changes for Disposal of Storm Related Debris in Thurston County

Olympia- Because of a decline in demand for drop off of woody debris related to the recent snow and ice storms, several disposal sites in Thurston County will be closing earlier than originally planned. Drop off of storm-related debris will now end at 4PM on Sunday, February 19th instead of the end of the month at the following locations-
  • Griffin Athletic Fields (parking lots), 6924 41st Avenue NW
  • Burfoot Park, (front entrance parking lot), 6927 Boston Harbor Road NE
  • Kenneydell Park, (ball field parking lot), 6745 Fairview Road
  • Rainier, (vacant lot behind Rainier Market) corner of Minnesota and Rochester Streets.

The two remaining drop-off sites will continue to take woody debris free of charge through 5 PM on February 29th. Those sites are-
  • Waste and Recovery Center (WARC), 2418 Hogum Bay Road NE (residential customers - no fee, Landscape businesses or Commercial haulers will be charged their regular fee).
  • Sargent Road Gravel Pit, 16500 Sargent Rd. SW

Thurston County Utilities Operations Manager Scott Schimelfenig says there has also been some illegal dumping at the drop-off sites. "Unfortunately, some people have been taking advantage of these locations by dropping off household garbage and other items including a couch and a clothes dryer. We want to remind folks that this free service is for storm-related woody debris only." Schimelfenig says the vast majority of people are dropping off appropriate materials and they are very appreciative of the service.

Citizens who have questions can call Thurston County Roads Maintenance at 360-786-5495, or the Waste and Recovery Center at 360-867-2491.



County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3