​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, October 10, 2012
Cathy Wolfe, Thurston County Commission Chair at (360) 786-5440
Patricia O'Neil, WSU Thurston County Extension at (360) 867-2172

October 7-13 Proclaimed 4-H Week in Thurston County

OLYMPIA - Today the Board of Thurston County Commissioners issued a proclamation making October 7-13, 2012 "4-H Week in Thurston County."

Each October marks the beginning of the 4-H program year, and 4-H clubs in Thurston County and across the nation are celebrating 4-H Week to highlight last year's accomplishments and invite new members to join the this year's 4-H programs.

"Our 4-H programs are so tightly woven into the fabric of this community, we wanted to do something special and highlight this national movement for our local community and recognize all of the young people in Thurston County who did outstanding work this past year," said County Commission Chair Cathy Wolfe. "The 4-H programs are a model for public-private partnership, and they do so much to build the skills and knowledge and confidence in our young people, 4-H programs are an investment in our future."

The Thurston County 4-H program is a partnership between the private, non-profit National 4-H Council, the Washington State University Extension program, and Thurston County government. What started as a handful of agricultural clubs for youth in the late 1800s and early 1900s has grown into a community of 442 members supporting 89 clubs in Thurston County, and 6 million young people across America learning about agricultural techniques, technology and research through practical "hands-on" learning. The national 4-H organization is a unique partnership of the National 4-H Council, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), more than 100 land-grant universities across the country, and more than 3,000 county offices that form the land-grant university Cooperative Extension System.

Today's proclamation also highlighted the Thurston County 4-H members who won championships at the Washington State Fair, and some of the youth who will be participating in national 4-H competitions in the coming months:
  • Natasha Cnossen - named to the State 4-H Equine Judging Team
  • Emily Hadley - Grand Champion, 4-H Dog Pre-Novice Obedience - Senior Division; and Champion, 4-H Dog Pre-Novice Obedience - Senior Division
  • Diandra Nault - Champion, 4-H Llama Trail Obstacles
  • Andrea Luper - Champion, 4-H Dog Fitting & Showing - Intermediate Division; and Champion, 4-H Dog Open Agility (at 22") - Intermediate Division;
  • Makenna Wilson - Champion, 4-H Dog Jumpers Pre-Novice (at 18") - Senior Division;
  • Theresa Taylor - Co-Champion, 4-H Dog Jumpers Pre-Novice (over 22") - Senior Division;
  • Alexa Carter - Champion, 4-H Dog Judging - Senior Division;
  • Lauren Wilson - Champion, 4-H Dog Fitting & Showing - Intermediate Division; and Champion, Dog Pre-Novice Obedience - Intermediate Division;
  • Abigail Rickert - Champion, 4-H Dog Pre-Novice Obedience - Junior Division;
  • Autumn Fortin - Champion, 4-h Dog Novice Obedience - Intermediate Division;
  • Sarah Jodway - Champion, 4-H Dog Novice Obedience - Senior Division;
  • Named to Championship County 4-H Dog Judging Team - Intermediate Division: Ashley Seeley, Andrea Luper, Katie Evans, Autumn Fortin, Mariana Gonzalez, Rose Cecil, Jordan Aitkin, and Lauren Wilson

To compete at the state level in September, Thurston County 4-H youth must first compete at the Thurston County Fair in August. The 2012 Thurston County Fair included more than 400 4-H participants.

To learn more about the WSU Thurston County Extension 4-H programs and how to join, visit http://county.wsu.edu/thurston or call (360) 867-2151. WSU Extension programs and employment are available to all without discrimination.



County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3