​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Tuesday, May 11, 2010
Thurston County Manager Don Krupp, (360) 786-5440

Thurston Board of Commissioners Appoints Shawn Myers Interim Treasurer

The Thurston County Board of Commissioners today appointed Shawn Myers as interim Thurston County treasurer.

Myers brings to the role more than 19 years of experience in the Thurston County Treasurer's Office, where she performed a wide range of duties. She began her employment in the office in 1986 as a cashier working directly with the public and ultimately advanced to a five-year term as chief deputy treasurer managing the financial investments for the county.

Myers left the county Treasurer's Office in 2005 to become a controller for the Bank of the Pacific, a position she held for three years until accepting a position as cash flow manager in the state Treasurer's Office. Myers will resign her position with the Treasurer's Office to assume her new role.

"Shawn has such a wealth of direct experience with the Treasurer's Office she will be able to hit the ground running. We are excited to have her back onboard," said Commissioner Karen Valenzuela.

Thurston County Commission Chair Sandra Romero thanked Noah Crocker and Diana Benson, the other applicants for the position, and said, "It was a very important decision and not easy to come by as all the applicants were well qualified."

"Shawn's experience will provide a smooth transition in the Treasurer's Office until after the general election," said Commissioner Cathy Wolfe.

The treasurer is responsible for collecting and distributing tax dollars and managing 12 employees and a multi-million dollar investment portfolio.

Myers will serve until shortly after voters elect a new treasurer in November. She succeeds the former incumbent, Robin Hunt, a Democrat, who resigned in April for a new job in the private sector.

"I'm very honored to be appointed and I look forward to the position in public service that has been entrusted to me," Myers said.


County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3