​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Tuesday, February 11, 2014
Linda Robson, Thurston County Public Information at (360) 867-2097 or RobsonL@co.thurston.wa.us

Thurston County Offices Closed Feb. 17 for Presidents' Day
Regular curbside garbage and recycling collection on Monday

Thurston County government offices will be closed on Monday, February 17 in observance of Presidents' Day. All offices will re-open for regular business on Tuesday, February 18.

Regular curbside garbage and recycling collection will still be done in Thurston County on Monday,
February 17. Customers are reminded to have their garbage and recycling bins ready for pick up by 6 a.m.
The county's Waste and Recovery Center in Lacey will also be open regular hours from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Fire and Police Emergency Services: Call 9-1-1 for emergency police, fire and medic services. Residents are urged to use 9-1-1 for life-threatening emergencies only.

  • Thurston County Sheriff Non-emergency Services: Residents of unincorporated Thurston County are urged to call the Sherriff's Department non-emergency number at (360) 704-2740 for non-emergency issues like noise complaints. 9-1-1 should be used for life-threatening emergencies only.

  • County Parks Open: Burfoot Park, Frye Cove Park, Kenneydell Park and the Off-Leash Dog Park at the WARC will be open during regular park hours.

  • Intercity Transit: IT Intercity Transit will operate all its regular weekday services on Presidents' Day, Monday, February 17. Some minor revisions to Route 68 and Express Route 609 will go into effect on Sunday, February 16, and riders are encouraged to visit Intercity Transit's website for full details about the February 16 service change. Go to www.intercitytransit.com or call (360) 786-1881 for more information.



County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3