​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Tuesday, August 24, 2010
Sandra Romero, Thurston County Commission Chair, 360-786-5440
Don Krupp, Thurston County Manager, 360-786-5440

Earthquake Drill Means Brief Closure of Thurston County Offices

OLYMPIA - Services at Offices and Departments of Thurston County government will be interrupted for a short period of time the afternoon of Thursday, September 2nd. The break in services to the public is to allow time for an earthquake drill which involves all county employees.

Thurston County Manager Don Krupp says the interruption will start at 1:15 in the afternoon and will last roughly 15 minutes. "The drill will encompass a 'Drop, Cover, & Hold' exercise which will last about 30 seconds. That will be followed by an evacuation to ensure all employees know how to safely get out of their respective buildings, where to gather outside and what other duties they might have if it was a real earthquake."

As many South Sound residents may remember, an earthquake can hit at any time, such as the one centered in the Nisqually Reach area that struck in 2001. "That's why we need to practice our reaction to such natural disasters", says Thurston County Commission Chair Sandra Romero. "We appreciate the patience of people who might be at the courthouse who will be impacted by the drill on September 2nd. We need to do this type of exercise every once in a while to ensure we can react appropriately to natural disasters, provide for the safety of courthouse visitors and employees and carry on the business of county government."

  • What: Earthquake Drill for Thurston County Employees.
  • When: 1:15 the Afternoon of Thursday, September 2nd.
  • Where: All Offices and Departments of Thurston County Government.
  • How Long: The Drill Will Last Approximately 15 Minutes.



County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3