​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Friday, January 16, 2015
Sandy Johnson, Thurston County Emergency Management, 360-867-2800, C-360-239-4419

Potential Landslide in the Lacey Area
Homeowners advised to be aware

OLYMPIA - A handful of homeowners have been notified of a potential landslide hazard in the Lacey area.

Thurston County Emergency Management this afternoon was notified by the Thurston Conservation District that a slope in the vicinity of Marian Drive NE is actively sliding and that the slide extends to neighboring properties. The original inspection was performed by the Thurston Conservation District on January 9, 2014.

With high groundwater and heavy rains over the past several weeks, the potential for landslides is increasing. The impacted homeowners, and other county residents whose homes are on slopes or bluffs, are advised to be aware of the signs of potential slides.

  • Cracks that appear that were not seen before
  • The sudden appearance of groundwater or water coming from a hillside and that discharge was not seen before
  • Sunken areas in your lawn or areas that look like they have been recently disturbed
  • Utilities that suddenly stop working such as loss of power or water
  • Door frames that suddenly stick or are out of alignment

More information can be obtained from a Landslide Hazard Fact Sheet from the Washington State Department of Natural Resources at http://www.dnr.wa.gov/Publications/ger_fs1_landslides.pdf

The Thurston Conservation District will perform slope stability assessments. However, they cannot provide the service during an emergency and the inspection has to be scheduled. In order to schedule this service, property owners should contact the Thurston Conservation District at (360) 754-3588 Ext 114 and speak with Kathleen Whalen.



County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3