​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Friday, May 1, 2015
Stacy Klein, Public Information Officer, (360) 786-5245 or kleinst@co.thurston.wa.us

Prairie Appreciation Day at Glacial Heritage Preserve
Discover South Puget Sound's hidden gem May 9

OLYMPIA-Come see Thurston County's Glacial Heritage Preserve on Saturday, May 9th for Prairie Appreciation Day. The park is an expanse of prairie ablaze with the colors of native wildflowers in full bloom. You'll see blue camas, golden buttercup and Gnarled Garry oaks huddle against the prairie wind. You'll also see rare Taylor checkerspot butterflies, plump bees and showy bluebirds serenading your walk along the prairie trail.

The preserve is owned by Thurston County and managed in cooperation with its many partners.

Family fun plus spring flower photo opportunity

Hayrides, guided and self-guided walks and trail with information stations. Prairie experts will be on hand to discuss prairie ecology and restoration, management of wildflowers and invasive plants, and birds, bats, gophers, deer, bears and other wildlife living in this unique ecosystem. Children will have an opportunity to make seed balls, wind wands and write with natural inks.

Glacial Heritage is open to the public only one day each year. Don't miss this rare opportunity to experience Thurston County's premier preserve.

More information and detailed directions-


Free family fun. (Sorry, no pets in the park. Vehicles with pets are not permitted.)
Bring a picnic & water. No food vendors.
Bathroom facilities available.
Donations for Thurston County Food Bank accepted (no glass please).

Mima Mounds is the wheelchair accessible site for this event. It's located about a mile from Glacial Heritage and offers wheelchair accessible activities and shorter, easier walks. Group tours available, but please schedule in advance.



County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3