​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday, July 2, 2015
Cathy Wolfe, Thurston County Commission Chair, 360-786-5440
John Tennis, Public Information Manager, 360-709-3073

"Lock Down" Drills Impact Thurston County Facilities
Several drills at county buildings throughout week of July 6

OLYMPIA - Some offices of Thurston County government will be briefly closed at various times between Monday, July 6 and Friday, July 10 for emergency preparedness drills. County employees at the main courthouse campus on Lakeridge Drive in Olympia will be asked to briefly "lock down" the buildings sometime on July 6, 7 or 8. Other county facilities will be asked to lock down at other times throughout the entire week.

Thurston County Commission Chair Cathy Wolfe says the drills are necessary in order to make sure reactions are appropriate if a real emergency occurs. "We know these drills are a brief inconvenience for citizens, but they help us to prepare should something unfortunate occur at one of the county buildings. We ask for courthouse visitors' patience during the exercise."

County spokesman John Tennis says during the drill, courthouse visitors will be given an explanation of what is happening and they will be guided to gathering areas, or asked to wait in their vehicles until the drills are over; citizen choice. "The drill will be brief and we appreciate the patience of the public as we practice our reaction to an emergency." County employees will be located inside and outside the buildings to assist the public during the drills.

  • WHAT: Lock Down Training Drills
  • WHERE: Thurston County Courthouse at 2000 Lakeridge Drive SW in Olympia and at other county facilities
  • WHEN: Monday, July 6 through Friday, July 10 at various times. *Drills will take approximately 30 minutes



County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3