Skip to main content

Thurston County, Washington

The content on the Thurston County website is currently provided in English. We are providing the “Translation” for approximately 10 languages. The goal of the translation is to provide visitors with limited English proficiency to access information on the website in other languages. The translations do not translate all types of documents, and it may not give you an exact translation all the time. The translations are made through an automated process, which may not result in accurate or precise translations, particularly of technical and legal terminology.
Thurston County Full Color Logo

Thurston County Commissioners-Elect Wayne Fournier of District 4, and Emily Clouse of District 5, were sworn in on Tuesday, November 28, increasing the board from three to five commissioners. 

Following the 2023 general election certification, on Tuesday, November 28,  at approximately 12:45 p.m., Commissioner Carolina Mejia, Chair of the Board, swore in Commissioner Clouse. Clouse began her role immediately, participating in the November 28 afternoon board meetings.

“I am deeply honored and humbled by the trust placed in me by the residents of Thurston County, and I pledge to serve with unwavering dedication and integrity,” said Commissioner Clouse. “As we move forward, I am committed to bringing our community’s vision to life, fostering a thriving, inclusive, and sustainable future for all.”

Later that evening, Commissioner Fournier was sworn-in by Commissioner Mejia following his resignation as Mayor of Tenino at Tuesday’s Tenino City Council meeting. Commissioner Fournier began his new role the following morning.

“I am excited to get to work as the commissioner for our newly created District 4,” said Commissioner Fournier. “We live in one of the most amazing places in the country and I am ready to be part of a team that wants to make it even better.”

“We are pleased to welcome the two commissioners to the board,” said Chair of Board, Commissioner Carolina Mejia. “Their addition enhances our ability to make impactful decisions and drive our county forward.” 

Background on Expansion from Three to Five Commissioners 

The Board of County Commissioners (BoCC) passed Resolution No. 16181, concerning a proposition to increase the number of commissioners. In the fall of 2021, Thurston County and the Port of Olympia collaborated and signed a joint resolution to put forward ballot measures during the general election to expand both goerning bodies from three to five.

During the November 8, 2022 general election, Thurston County passed Proposition No. 1, expanding the BoCC from three to five members. 



Board of County Commissioners
Press Release

Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:  

Meghan Porter


Anna Rhoads