​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Ramiro Chavez, Public Works Director, 360-867-2271, or chavezr@co.thurston.wa.us

Thurston County Moves to Improve Section of Puget Sound Shoreline
Project would provide for removal of Burfoot Park bulkhead

OLYMPIA - Working with the South Sound Salmon Enhancement Group, Thurston County Public Works officials will coordinate removal of a bulkhead along the Puget Sound Shoreline. The bulkhead has long been a part of the county's Burfoot Park on Budd Inlet. The Enhancement Group is providing the $315,000 needed for the project.

Removal of the bulkhead will restore the nearshore habitat according to Publics Works Director Ramiro Chavez. "The nearshore provides spawning area for forage fish that salmon eat as well as an accessible migration path along the shallow shoreline. The existing bulkhead increases predation of juvenile salmon and interferes with the drift cell that moves sediments up and down the beach." Removal of the bulkhead would also improve pedestrian beach access at higher tides. The project includes a new stairway to the beach.

As part of the project, an Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) parking spot will be lost. However, the spot did not provide for ADA beach access and was only used occasionally.

There are several other locations for ADA access to Puget Sound. The State Department of Fish and Wildlife identifies access at Boston Harbor and Luhr Beach for parking, restrooms and boat launch. The Boston Harbor area has both restrooms and parking. Priest Point Park is listed as ADA parking, restroom and overlook. Woodard Bay has ADA parking and restrooms and there are access points along East Bay Drive and around the Port of Olympia peninsula.

Work on the bulk head removal is expected to begin in late spring and should be completed by the end of the year.



County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3