​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, January 5, 2011
Cami Petersen, Historic Commission Staff, 360-754-3355 ext. 6348

2011 Historic Preservation Grants Awarded

OLYMPIA - Historic preservation programs in Thurston County have been given a boost, thanks to grants authorized today (1-04-11) by the Board of County Commissioners. Funding for the grants comes under an enactment from the 2005 legislature that sets aside $1 from each $5 historic document recording fee collected by the county auditor. The grant program is managed by the Thurston County Historic Commission who review and recommend funding in an yearly amount not to exceed a total of $30,000.

The Thurston County Historic Commission received and ranked thirteen applications. Seven organizations were awarded various amounts of grant funding for 2011 as listed below -

  • South Thurston County Historical Society- Repair to the historic Ticknor one room school house in Tenino. $5,000
  • City of Tenino - Heritage kiosk and historical signage at the entrance to the city park. $5,000
  • Henderson House Museum- Development of a heritage education package about the Tumwater Historic District. $5000
  • City of Olympia - Educational program concerning Modern Architecture in Olympia. $1,000
  • Sand Man Foundation - Replacement of a Stanley Steamer Engine to drive the tow winch. $4,000
  • Bucoda Community Foundation - Install a fire suppression system in Odd Fellows Hall. $5,000
  • Lacey Museum - Digitize and transcribe daily diaries and speech notes of pioneer George H. Himes. $5000

Funds from the Thurston County Historic Commission Program also go to help pay for their staff. The grant awards will be done annually to help support the wide array of preservation programs in Thurston County.



County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3