​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Friday, November 30, 2007
Don Krupp, Chief Administrative Officer, 360-786-5440

Public Invited to Comment on 2008 Budget

OLYMPIA -- Thurston County Commissioners Monday will conduct the formal public hearing on the preliminary 2008 budget.  This is the official opportunity for county residents to give their opinions on the draft $269.3 million spending plan. 

Thurston County Chief Administrative Officer Don Krupp says the '08 budget is a status quo budget.  "Although the budget for next year is up about $17 Million from the 2007 budget, most of that increase is in capital funding.  Those monies come from funds dedicated to major equipment purchases and construction projects.  In this particular case, the funds are for work on the Accountability and Restitution Center and the Customer Service Center both in the Mottman Industrial Park area."

Krupp says County Commissioners would love to hear from the public next week.  "Although we have done a lot of outreach to find out citizen's priorities for programs and services funded by the budget, Monday's hearing is the only 'official' time for public comment."

The public hearing on the 2008 preliminary budget will be held at 6:00 PM the evening of Monday, December 3rd  in room 280 of Building One of the Thurston County Courthouse, 2000 Lakeridge Drive SW, Olympia.   County Commissioners will deliberate on the budget December 4th through the 7th and adoption is scheduled for Monday morning, December 17th.

Those interested in more budget information can look for the budget "Hot Button" on the Thurston County website at http://www.co.thurston.wa.us  Comments can be directed to Budget Director John Bartz at bartzj@co.thurston.wa.us  


County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3