​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Tuesday, August 24, 2004
Don Krupp, Chief Administrative Officer, 360-786-5440

Thurston County Commissioners Set Evening Meeting

OLYMPIA – The next weekly meeting of the Thurston County Commission will take place in the evening, instead of the regular morning meeting time.  The meeting on Monday, September 13th, will begin at 6 PM.  In addition, the commissioners will meet as the Thurston County Board of Health immediately after the county commission business is concluded on the 13th.

Commission chairman Diane Oberquell says the evening meeting is a continuation of efforts to include the citizenry in the work of the commission and the county.  "We have many, many occasions when the public can come and talk to us in both formal and informal ways including the commission meetings on most Monday mornings, some evening and weekend meetings and public events like the recent pancake breakfast at the Thurston County Fair.   In fact, whenever we make major changes to ordinances or regulations, adopt the annual budget etceteras, we always conduct an evening hearing before doing so.  This 6 PM commission meeting on the 13th is just one more way to connect with those who may not be able to attend a regular commission meeting at 9 o'clock on a weekday."

There will not be any Thurston County Commission meetings between now and the evening meeting on the 13th.  Monday, August 30th is a fifth Monday in one month and in that instance, no commission meeting is scheduled.  There will not be a meeting on September 6th because of the Labor Day holiday. 

The next meeting of the Thurston County Commission is set for 6 PM in Room 280 of the Thurston County Courthouse at 2000 Lakeridge Dr. SW Olympia, WA. 98502.

County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3