​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, July 26, 2017
Bryan Dominique, Public Information Officer-Board of County Commissioners, (360) 463-3737 or dominib@co.thurston.wa.us  

Commissioners Say No to 2017 Convention District Ballot Measure
Proposal still possible in 2018 general election

OLYMPIA – On Wednesday, July 26 the Board of County Commissioners agreed 3-0 to not submit a ballot measure for the November 2017 election for the creation of the cultural arts, stadium, and convention district. 

The decision comes one day after a public hearing, where the Commissioners considered written and public testimony from citizens.

“Thurston County needs an event center,” said Commission Chair, Bud Blake. “But based on feedback from citizens, we would like to continue the conversation with other jurisdictions and community partners.”

While Wednesday’s decision keeps it off the ballot in November, a proposal for the creation of a cultural arts, stadium, and convention district could be possible in 2018. 

“Recognizing the time constraints of state legislation, we decided not to move forward with a proposal at this time,” said Commissioner Gary Edwards. “After the public hearing and all the feedback received prior to that, it is clear that more time is needed to get all the facts so our region can make an informed decision.”  

The Commissioners decided to leave the possibility of a ballot measure in the 2018 general election because they believe a cultural arts, stadium, or convention center can be an economic development resource for the region.

“We’re not saying no to the district, but more time is needed to facilitate a regional conversation, and that is what this process is all about,” said Commission Vice-Chair John Hutchings. “There is still considerable community support for this vision.”


County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3