​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Monday, March 26, 2018
Bryan Dominique, Public Information Officer, (360) 867-2091 or email at dominib@co.thurston.wa.us 

Thurston 2040 Photo Contest
County will host first-ever virtual photo contest centered on comprehensive plan update

​OLYMPIA –   Starting Monday, April 2, 2018 we'll be hosting our first ever virtual photo contest! The contest will run through June 18, 2018 and consist of 11 weekly themes centered on the County's Comprehensive Plan update.

 The winner of the previous week's theme will be announced with the beginning of a new theme and have their photo featured in the Comprehensive Plan, which serves as the guiding document for the development of the County into 2040 and beyond. All photos will be credited to the photographer.

Themes include:

  • Land Use
  • Housing
  • Environment
  • Health
  • Agriculture (including shell fishing)
  • Forestry
  • Economic Development
  • Transportation
  • History & Heritage
  • Open Space & Recreation
  • Thurston County 2040

A new theme will be announced each week on our Facebook page, so citizens are encouraged to follow the page to receive weekly updates. Citizens can learn more about the Comprehensive Plan update at www.thurston2040.com.

How to Participate

To participate citizens have to like the Thurston County Facebook page and submit their photo through Facebook messenger at facebook.com/thurstonco/. Images must include a short caption about how the photo relates to the current week's theme, along with the photographer who captured the image and the date it was taken.

Images will be shared on the County's social media sites throughout the duration of the contest. The images with the most combined engagements – likes, comments and shares – will win.



County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3