Thurston County facilities are now open to the public with restrictions, including maintaining physical distancing of at least six feet at all times and, per the Washington State Secretary of Health’s face covering order wearing a cloth face covering or mask. If you come to county facilities, please be prepared for potentially long wait times or lines due to distancing guidelines. We continue to encourage residents to access county services online, by phone, by email, or through the use of drop boxes located outside of county buildings.
The availability of remote services vary by office and department.

Click here for office and department contact information
Click here for information on COVID-19


​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Monday, September 30, 2019
Jane Mountjoy-Venning, Water Quality, 360-867-2643, or email

Toxic Algae Health Warning in Effect for Pattison Lake
Toxin levels are above the threshold for health concern

OLYMPIA – Pattison Lake has a toxic algae bloom. Lab results received today show that the algae bloom is producing unsafe levels of microcystin. Reports show toxin levels at the sample site are 6.4 ug/L. The state advisory level for microcystin is 6.0 ug/L. Staff will collect samples weekly until the algae bloom clears. 

When an algae bloom is present, health officials recommend taking extra precautions to avoid the health risks posed by potential toxins.
  • Do not drink the lake water
  • Avoid contact with water containing algae
  • Do not swim or water ski in areas with algae
  • Keep pets and livestock away from where algae blooms are present
  • Do not eat fish that come from the lake during an algae bloom
  • Avoid areas of scum when boating 
For more information about toxic algae blooms and health risks, visit: or call 360-867-2626. 


County Commissioners:

John Hutchings
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3