​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday, March 26, 2020
April Leigh, Education & Outreach Coordinator II, (360) 490-9594 or april.leigh@co.thurston.wa.us 

Coronavirus Response: Waste Facilities Closing to Self-Haul Customers
Thurston County Waste & Recovery Center will only serve commercial haulers  March 28 – April 8, 2020

​OLYMPIA – The Waste & Recovery Center (WARC) will be closing to self-haul customers Saturday, March 28, 2020 through Wednesday, April 8, 2020. Services at the HazoHouse and recycling area will also be closed to the public. This is in addition to the suspension of services at the Rochester and Rainier Drop Box locations.

Friday, March 27, 2020 is the last day self-haul customers of the WARC will be able to access the facility until it reopens to the public on Thursday, April 9, 2020. The public closure is to help protect residents, staff, and their families from the spread of the Coronavirus (COVID-19). 

"We know that many people are spring cleaning right now and we need to provide residents and others who self-haul with options. This is a temporary closure to comply with the Governor's Stay Home, Stay Healthy order, and to help protect residents, our staff and their families," said Thurston County Solid Waste Manager Mark McElroy.

The public closure of the WARC does not affect commercial haulers who provide garbage services to many county residents. It only affects those who self-haul to county waste facilities.

Services are scheduled to reopen to those who self-haul at the WARC on Thursday, April 9, 2020. For more information, including educational information on how to reduce waste, visit Thurston County Solid Waste online at https://www.co.thurston.wa.us/solidwaste/ or @ThurstonSolidWaste on Facebook.


County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3