​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, April 17, 2013
Thurston County Public Information Office at (360) 867-2097

Get Your Copy of Thurston County Fair History Book

Now you can enjoy the fun, food, history and heritage of the Thurston County Fair all year long with the book "Memories: The History of the Thurston County Fair." Written by Ann Shipley, a long time fair board member and volunteer, the book tells how the Thurston County Fair has been at the center of Thurston County history, heritage, commerce and agriculture since 1871.

"A lot of people have happy memories of the smells and sights and sounds of the fair--they have a strong personal connection to that special week each summer. But when researching the book, I found that those personal memories are tied to a much bigger picture," said author Ann Shipley.

"A lot of the events and contests at the fair are deeply tied to Thurston County history and Washington state history," Shipley said. "They tie directly to what life was like for the pioneer settlers in the Pacific Northwest and give us a glimpse of our cultural heritage."

To reserve your copy of "Memories: The History of the Thurston County Fair" for $25, contact Ann Shipley at
(360) 791-6086 or at avshipley@comcast.net. All proceeds from the book sale go to the Thurston County Fair Foundation, which will help the Thurston County Fair make more memories for years to come.

The laughter and ladybugs will have you giggling with glee at this year's Thurston County Fair July 31 through August 4. For more information about the 2013 fair and other events at the Thurston County Fairgrounds, go to www.co.thurston.wa.us/fair or contact the Thurston County Fair Office at (360) 786-5453.

"Laughter and Ladybugs at the Thurston County Fair!"
July 31- Aug. 4, 2013



County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3