​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Friday, January 17, 2014
Karen Valenzuela, Thurston County Commission Chair at (360)786-5440 or ValenzK@co.thurston.wa.us
Dan Roach, Pierce County Council Chair at (253) 798-3635 or droach@co.pierce.wa.us

Thurston and Pierce County Leaders Choose Legislative Appointee
Graham Hunt replaces State Rep. Gary Alexander in the 2nd Legislative District

DuPONT—At a special joint session at DuPont City Hall, members of the Pierce County Council and Thurston County Commission today chose Graham Hunt of Orting to fill the 2nd Legislative District seat vacated recently by Gary Alexander.

Hunt was one of three candidates put forth by the Washington State Republican Party as nominees. The other two candidates were Matt Hamilton of Graham and Andrew Barkis of Olympia. Hunt is an Orting City Council member who owns an insurance agency. Hunt also is an Air Force veteran who served in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Thurston County Commission Chair Karen Valenzuela said she is pleased that the commission was able to work closely with the Pierce County Council to find someone who can do a good job of representing the citizens of the 2nd district on legislative matters. "We had a tough decision with three exceptional candidates," said Valenzuela.

Pierce County Council Chair Dan Roach said, "We had three great candidates, and I thank them all for their willingness to go through this process. My first choice was the Precinct Committee Officer's first choice—Matt Hamilton. Although I think Graham Hunt is a fantastic candidate and will represent the community well."

The next step in the process will come when Hunt is sworn in during special ceremonies at the state Legislature. He will have about a year in office, but will have to win the post in the general election next November if he wants to retain the position beyond this year.


County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3