​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Friday, August 15, 2014
Matt Unzelman, Public Works Dept. at (360) 867-2335 or UnzelmM@co.thurston.wa.us

Traffic Alert: Tilley Road Bridge Closes Monday at 7 a.m.
T-2 crossing near 140th Ave. SW slated for 12-hour closures Monday and Wednesday

Drivers in Thurston County are reminded that the T-2 Beaver Creek Bridge will be closed for 12 hours beginning at 7 a.m. on Monday. The T-2 Beaver Creek Bridge is on South Tilley Road just north of 140th Ave. Southwest.

Public Works crews will do maintenance work on the bridge that will require it to be closed to all traffic between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. on Monday, August 18 and Wednesday, August 20. Public Works staff members say the two 12-hour closures should be enough time to complete the work, but that crews may also need to close the bridge for a period on Friday, August 22 if weather or other factors delay the work. The department will announce on Wednesday, August 20 if the work is complete or if a closure on Friday, August 22 is needed.

The T-2 Bridge work on Monday and Wednesday and the detour route on Reeder Road Southwest will not affect the L-4 Bridge detour route—the T-2 detour route is east of I-5, and the L-4 Bridge detour route on Case Road Southwest is west of I-5.

Progress updates and additional information about the T-2 Beaver Creek Bridge maintenance work will be posted to the Road Maintenance page of the Thurston County Public Works website at www.co.thurston.wa.us/publicworks/Sections/MAINTENANCE/roadops.aspx. A map of the detour route on Reeder Road Southwest is also be available on the Road Maintenance web page.

Get connected with Thurston County Public Works. Follow us on Twitter to get updates and information on general announcements, emergency notifications, road closure alerts and other county road information:


County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3