​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Friday, September 19, 2014
Vivian Eason, Emergency Management Coordinator at (360) 867-2825 or EasonV@co.thurston.wa.us

Get Ready for Storm Season and More at Prep Expo 2014
New location for county's annual emergency prep event Sept. 27

Don't let the waning warmth of summer fool you—storm season is just around the corner. Get the tools, tips and tricks you need to weather the storms and other emergencies at the annual Thurston County Emergency Preparedness Expo on Saturday, September 27 at a new location—Peter G. Schmidt Elementary School in Tumwater.

This year's featured presentations include information about living in an active volcano region from the U.S. Geological Survey, Bob Bippert from the Washington State Emergency Management Department with stories and lessons from the Oso landslide response, and a presentation on what you need to know to survive and active shooter incident from Scott Eastman with the Lacey Police Department and Alex Christiansen with the Lacey Fire Department.

The free event will open at 10 a.m. and every attendee will receive a free Kit-Man safety bag with instructions on how to create your own emergency response kit. More than 40 vendors will be on hand with information and demonstrations on everything you need to prepare, respond, and recover from the next storm or emergency.

WHAT: Emergency Preparedness Expo 2014 – Admission is free!

WHEN: Saturday, Sept. 27 from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

WHERE: Peter G. Schmidt Elementary School at 225 Dennis Street SW in Tumwater, 98501

For more information about the Thurston County Emergency Management Division, visit www.co.thurston.wa.us/em or contact Vivian Eason at EasonV@co.thurston.wa.us or (360) 867-2825.


County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3