​Questions and inquiries regarding News Release content should be directed to the Thurston County Public Information Officer:

Meghan Porter

Bryan Dominique

Thurston County News Release


Current News Releases

Past News Releases

Legal Notices


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Jim Bachmeier, Program Manager, Thurston County Water Resources, (360) 745-4275

Thurston County's Storm & Surface Water Advisory Board seeks Four New Members
Have a voice in Thurston County water resources programs and rates

OLYMPIA - Thurston County's Storm and Surface Water Advisory Board (SSWAB) is accepting applications for four new members to fill existing vacancies.

Members advise the Board of County Commissioners on matters related to stormwater policies and programs such as public education and outreach, water quality and flood control improvements, environmental monitoring, stormwater pollution prevention, stormwater operations and maintenance, and the utility rates to support these work programs.

Any resident of unincorporated Thurston County with an interest in storm and surface water resources may apply. Residents living in unincorporated Thurston County in the Littlerock, Rochester, Grand Mound, Tenino, Rainier or Yelm areas are encouraged to apply.

The application is online at Thurston County's boards and commissions web page. (http://www.co.thurston.wa.us/bocc/boards.htm) under the section titled 'More Information'. Those interested should complete and return the application as directed.

Term length is three years. No prior board experience is necessary. Meetings are usually held six times per year on the third Thursday of the month in the Water Resources conference room at 929 Lakeridge Drive SW, near the County Courthouse in Olympia from 5:30-7:30 p.m.

To learn more about the Storm and Surface Water Advisory Board, please visit the website www.co.thurston.wa.us/stormwater/sswab/sswab-home.html.



County Commissioners:

Carolina Mejia
District 1

Gary Edwards
District 2

Tye Menser
District 3