Skip to main content

Thurston County, Washington

The content on the Thurston County website is currently provided in English. We are providing the “Translation” for approximately 10 languages. The goal of the translation is to provide visitors with limited English proficiency to access information on the website in other languages. The translations do not translate all types of documents, and it may not give you an exact translation all the time. The translations are made through an automated process, which may not result in accurate or precise translations, particularly of technical and legal terminology.

Board of Health

The Thurston County Board of Commissioners (BoCC) are to expand the Board of Health (BoH) twelve total members. The expansion of the Board of Health was adopted to comply with the new law enacted by House Bill 1152, which calls for the establishment of comprehensive public health districts across the state.

The expanded board will consist of a total of twelve members:

  • The five members of the Board of County Commissioners
  • An elected city official as appointed by the city for a two-year term on a rotating basis in the following order: Lacey, Olympia, Tumwater, and Yelm
  • A tribal representative as selected by the American Indian Health Commission
  • One member representing public health, health care facilities, and providers
  • Two member representing consumers of public health
  • Two member representing other community stakeholders

This expansion allows for a community-based approach in setting public health policy. The BoCC believes the expanded BoH will increase community representation to help address public health disparities in Thurston County.

The members of the board shall receive no compensation or reimbursement of expenses for the performance of their duties.